RSS

Ljubljana.. Try Say That Fast 3x Over

07 Jul

Located almost in the middle of Slovenia and smack bang where all the trade route intercept, Ljubljana, (the “j” pronounced as an “i”), is the largest city in Slovenia and it’s capital. The symbol of the city is the Ljubljana Dragon shrouded in myth and legend.

The Dragon

The Dragon

As you walk into the center of the city you come across this amazing set of 3 bridges, aptly named Triple Bridge. These/This bridge connects the medieval town on one bank of the Ljubljana river to the modern city on the other side and is truly remarkable and quite beautiful.

Triple Bridge

Triple Bridge

Food Fair

The day we arrived was a food fair of sorts, where local chefs and restaurants come out and sell small tasters of what is on offer. Delicious is an understatement and only around €1 to €8. We wasted no time, me starting with dessert first, šmorn . A yummy pancake that is torn into pieces and then smothered in powdered sugar and preserves. I got berry mix on the right and apple on the left… sooooo yummy!!!

šmorn = yum yum!!

šmorn = yum yum!!

Then a couple of fried egg rolls, Kaja went for spring rolls (she is a little healthier than me). Her next dish was delicious spicy coconut red curry, cleared out the sinuses for sure, even on the sweltering hot day we were having. My main dish was a chicken tikka massala wrap from a local Indian stall.

I look down right Diabolical here

I look down right Diabolical here

We spent the next couple of hours idly wandering around and exploring. A bathroom break was a fantastic excuse for a local and very unique iceacream shop. I got something like lemon, strawberry, white chocolate with milk chocolate drizzle… yummy but not quite convinced…

delicious... I think

delicious… I think

Our True Mission In Ljubljana

Kaja and I both being avid cat lovers had already decided our real reason for coming to the city was to find the Cat Cafe – Ljubljana. And oh boy was it worth it, we must have taken 3 hours here alone, sipping our drinks very slowly and staring at the cats, which napped most of the time we were there, but did come out an socialize eventually.

Hooray, the Cat Cafe

Hooray, the Cat Cafe

Your Cat Menu

Your Cat Menu

The cats have a great walkway system throughout the cafe and outside
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Diva

The Diva

The Maine Coon

The Maine Coon

Everyone’s favorite is… Chilli the Devon Rex

Chilli chillin' on the outdoor cat walk

Chilli chillin’ on the outdoor cat walk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then there is Jonas…. Jonas has a thing about bags…

From Cat Cafe Facebook site

From Cat Cafe Facebook site

And then he found my bag… and was infatuated with it…

Jonas vs my bag

Jonas vs my bag

Remembering I had my leftover Chicken Tikka Masala wrap inside I moved it out of the way and then popped into the loo to powder my nose, so to speak. I was gone maybe 4 minutes and when I came out EVERYONE turned to stare at me… us there toilet paper on my shoe?? There was Kaja holding my, now chewed on, chicken wrap and a very annoyed Jonas staring at her… lol guess when there is a will there is a way.

All in all a great day, a hot day, but a great day with the highlight being the Cat Cafe (Hrenova ulica 19, 1000 Ljubljana), which just happened to have aircon!

A few more pics from the day:

artwork

artwork

different kind of artwork

different kind of artwork

flowers

flowers

more flowers

more flowers

Slovenian sausage shop...

Slovenian sausage shop…

stunning church door

stunning church door

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 7, 2015 in Slovenia, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
