RSS

Volunteering at PAC

03 Mar

With a Face Like This…

Arriving at Phangan Animal Clinic, PAC, to start volunteering I am greeted by dogs of all shapes and sizes. From Chloe the 10yr old, possibly great dane mix, to the cutest little big personality of them all, DWAYNE! With a face like this and a personality to match!
Dwayne

Dwayne is one of the many puppies and kittens on Koh Phangan looking for homes, whether on the island with a local or expat or to be shipped over seas to the UK or US. PAC is there to help treat, neuter/spay, rehome and assist with travel arrangements to anyone interested. Lucky for Dwayne it wasn’t too long of a wait till he found his forever home. But he has forever left his pawprint on me, as one of the cutest I have ever met.

Voluntourism

Voluntourism is a new “it” phrase. It is the chance to give back to a community or animal center. I have participated in a number of voluntourism projects from Ecuador to Tonga. For me I prefer ones that are either free or low cost and at least provide food and or housing. As much as I would love to do some of the projects involving more high profile creatures, I just can not afford some of the fees required for a week or two, especially in developing countries where the cost to support a volunteer is no where near the cost of the program.

A friend of mine, Tony James Slater, who made a name for himself and his antics during his time doing his Divemaster on Koh Phangan a few years back, had also volunteered at the Phangan Animal Clinic. He recommended I look into it and see if they could use my animal nursing skills.

Phangan Animal Clinic

As I mentioned in a previous post, PAC is tiny hardworking animal clinic that offers free rabies vaccines and spay/neuter to strays and at a low cost for those animals with owners. They rely on the skills of long time nurse Por and assistant nurse Lot. Laura, the live in manager, has run animal shelters in Nepal and India and has made PAC her most recent mission. They also depend heavily on volunteers from all walks of life, from vets to nurses to handymen to anyone just wanting to lend a hand. Donations of supplies and cash are always needed and they make a great option if you are looking for a great cause to fundraise for. So please glance over their wish list and see if you can help in any way.

During my time helping out, I assisted with numerous spay and neuters.

Vet from UK and nurse assistant Lot

Vet from UK and nurse assistant Lot

A rather large and disturbing looking lump that turned out to be an enlarged hernia with most of the inside being outside the stomach wall.

Hernia pup

Hernia pup

IMG_6336
visiting vet fixing hernia

visiting vet fixing hernia

Stitching up the bungalow cat from my row of bungalows who had been attacked by a dog and a few other exams and flea treatments. It brought back memories of volunteering in the Amazon or on Tonga and it always amazing me at what you can get done with limited medication, supplies and no ventilators.

It is not only dogs and cats, PAC also helps wildlife that is brought to them, from turtles to monkeys.

Laura, Natasha (UK vet) and Por.

Laura, Natasha (UK vet) and Por.

Appreciation Well Deserved

To Por, Lot and Laura and all the volunteers that passed through PAC while I was there, thank you so much for a great experience and thank you for all you do. I hope to return and help out again next year!!

To read about different stories go to the Cases section of the PAC website
Or you can friend them on Facebook.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Volunteering at PAC

  1. Barb

    March 4, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    After good reviews from you & Tony, PAC is definitely on my list of places to volunteer. It will just have to wait until after I retire next year.

     
    • trailingtrekker

      March 4, 2013 at 11:59 pm

      Well it just so happens I plan to return in January for an extended stay. Let’s hope we get to finally meet up!!

       
      • Barb

        March 5, 2013 at 2:44 pm

        Question, on their site I think I saw they want volunteers to stay 3 months, is that correct?

         
      • trailingtrekker

        March 5, 2013 at 5:10 pm

        I think they would prefer long term, but they had folks staying for only a week. If you use me as a reference I am sure they can find a placement. When are you thinking for next year?

         
      • Barb

        March 6, 2013 at 3:26 am

        I could possibly go in Jan. Feb. or March. So far, my only 2014 volunteer project is the Cook Islands (Esther Honey Foundation) in Sep. I’m retiring that month so will be able to stay as many weeks as I want 🙂

         
      • trailingtrekker

        March 7, 2013 at 12:14 am

        Well I am planning on getting there in January and you are more than welcome to crash until we find you some digs. We can have a happy retirement party!

         
      • Barb

        March 6, 2013 at 7:59 am

        Just learned that a U.S. vet I volunteered with in Chiang Mai also helped out at PAC. I’ll see him in a few weeks on a spay/neuter project in Colombia, so will also get his feedback on the place.

         
      • trailingtrekker

        March 7, 2013 at 12:13 am

        It’s a small world!

         
  2. Tony James Slater

    March 8, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    PAC are awesome, and they always need people. They do normally schedule ahead though, or at least they did when I was there, as they only needed a set number of volunteers – one or occasionally two nurses and two clinic assistants, as that’s all they had room for. So it helps to apply in advance and get a slot. Great people though, and an awesome cause. I was there on and off for almost a year, though I only officially worked there for three months. Fun! I even wrote a book about it… :0)

     
    • trailingtrekker

      March 8, 2013 at 10:50 pm

      so glad you suggested them Tony!!

       
    • trailingtrekker

      March 8, 2013 at 10:50 pm

      oh and was that a subtle hint to mention your book, would you like to share the link???

       
  3. Tony James Slater

    March 9, 2013 at 8:38 am

    Ha ha! No, not at all. I’m not big on self-promotion… :0)

     

Leave a Reply

 
