RSS

Whale Shark Ahead!!!

29 Nov

Boat Dives

My 2nd day out on the boat. Glorious sunny weather, getting a nice tan but must be careful not to have it be a burn. Today I was diving with Dive Master Marc, he had a scuba tune up student. A tune up is when a diver has been away from diving for a certain amount of time and needs a refresher course.

Marc is one of those divers who must have been born in the water, ridiculously comfortable in it and will often just jump in before the boat has stopped moving. He is also a bit like a bear in the sense that lifting tanks that take all my strength are like a feather for him, 2 at a time no worries! However, I do have to be careful as I got hit in the head a couple of times by his fins…As far as our customer went, he did really well, except for a minor panic attack when his mask filled with water.

On our second dive I saw something that is considered one of, if not the, Holy Grail of diving, a whale shark. It was beautiful, magnificent and fabulous all at the same time. About 5m/16.4ft long. We had heard they were there after the first dive, so went looking for them on the second. We went out to one of the pinnacles where it had been and hung around looking at tons and tons of fish. Whale sharks eat plankton and the water was thick with it, perfect conditions. But no luck, so we turned around and headed back, just as the whale shark was heading towards us. Blew my mind, but our customer was low on air so we had to head to the surface… incredible, just incredible.

Photo Courtesy of Michael Devlin – fellow dive master

And He Shall Be Named: Alex Whaleshark

One of the recently certified dive masters on our boat couldn’t help himself and touched the whale shark. I was on the surface when a whole stream of divers heading back to their boat started yelling at him. Later in the video you can see the exact moment he touched it, as everyone started yelling underwater. He literally got shunned by the community. Here is the video: Don’t Touch The Whale Shark

There is a reason for this. One of the golden rules of diving is DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING! Take only pictures leave only bubbles… If every diver started touching and riding the whale sharks they may stop coming and on a more serious note, the oils in our hands could cause a skin infection when it comes in contact with them. However, I do understand why, the shark is so amazing that you almost can’t stop yourself wanting to touch it.

All in all a superb day of diving, despite getting a tad sunburnt and smacking my shin on the boat steps twice while trying to get out.

Dinner was at 2 Brothers Restaurant and their famous 2 brothers Pad Thai and snickers/coconut shake. Yummy and soo much. The pad thai had seafood in it, which I am not a huge fan of, but the rest was yummy.

Catch Up Day

Next day was a no work day, so spent it catching up with things. Diary, blog, tried to study my dive master books. Did some training on my bike, Lucy Liu, and Gem (Thai dive instructor and owner of the bike) got me a lower seat and gave me some tips. Seriously, my legs are so dang short.

Later that evening I went with Carol to Tong Sala, the main town, sitting behind her on her bike. We went to the scuba shop and I picked up a dry bag to carry my stuff on the boat.

Back at home it was an exciting afternoon of cleaning and packing away and sorting stuff to move to my new bungalow. Carol had introduced me to green curry ramen so had that for lunch and cornflakes for dinner.

Later I chatted with Ricardo’s girlfriend, Sara, she said it looked like Ricardo had dengue fever, also known as break bone fever, cause that’s what it feels like. I was leaning towards it being the infection from his bug bite on his toe that had hit the bloodstream, but either way he was very sick. Koh Phangan is a hot spot for Dengue and Chaloklum is the hot spot of the hot spot, so break out your mozzy (mosquito) repellent when you get here.

All is well, and enjoying the island so far.. unfortunately discovered the 2nd hand camera I bought for my underwater housing has issues and the screen is blank. What a bugger….

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2012 in Thailand, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Whale Shark Ahead!!!

  1. Tony James Slater

    November 29, 2012 at 10:51 am

    WHALE SHARK!!! I ain’t never seen one o’ those… despite 100+ dives in that area… :0(

     
    • trailingtrekker

      December 1, 2012 at 1:29 am

      Right place right time, and maybe they just like me. Have sighted them on about 10 dives and just the other day almost kissed one as we both came round a blind corner.

       
  2. Christine

    November 30, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Sounds sooo cool. We are going whale shark hunting in Mexico for my next birthday. Wish it was Thailand though but it’s so darned far. We are really enjoying reading about your adventures. Sounds like so much fun. What’s next?

     
    • Christine

      November 30, 2012 at 2:33 am

      hunting as in snorkeling and photo taking…maybe hunting isn’t the right word 🙂

       
      • trailingtrekker

        December 1, 2012 at 1:31 am

        hahahahah I certainly hope so!

         
    • trailingtrekker

      December 1, 2012 at 1:31 am

      Hey, glad to hear you are enjoying the adventures, even though I am a bit behind. Have another 3wks here then home for the holidays and potentially a gig on a cruise ship as a hostess in January… we shall see. Have a strange craving to settle down for a year or two though…

       
  3. Barb

    December 3, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Did it end up that Ricardo had dengue fever? I never knew about it until I volunteered at a Cambodian children’s hospital. The staff said during the dengue fever season they get so many ill kids that they end up putting mattresses on the floor for them.
    Will look forward to hearing about what you decide to do in the New Year. The cruise ship would be kind of settling down in that you wouldn’t have to be packing your bags all the time.

     
    • trailingtrekker

      December 8, 2012 at 1:35 am

      Turns out it was an infection from a mosquito bite on his toe. But I know of 2 others who have had it. Just sent off final paperwork for the cruise ship so we will see if I get a contract.

       

Leave a Reply

 
