RSS

Seoul, Korea – Final Days

05 Nov

Calling Number 2

It was Friday already only 2 days left before I was due to leave Korea. I decided to try call number 2, my second taekwondo master. He was so dubbed by me, because it was easier to tell my mom, number 1 or number 2 and she would know who I was talking about.

When I called he got super nervous and just said:
“Oh Kathy, uh oh uh oh….”

I think I got it across to him that I was leaving on Sunday, but no guarantees.

Meeting the Parks for Lunch

I was meeting Jinsoo, finally, for lunch at his sister’s house. Esther had gone all out with Sam Geup Sal, my favorite version of Korean BBQ. Christine had insisted they go buy all the supplies the day before to have everything perfect for when Jinsoo and I arrived.

Christine with our lunch spread

It was a fantastic lunch and I was so happy to have finally got to see Jinsoo. Afterwards, Esther, Christine and I walked around her neighborhood, running some final errands for me and looking for a glucometer for the animal shelter in Thailand as they suspected they had a diabetic dog.

Unfortunately, all good times come to an end and it was time to say goodbye, I hope to see my wonderful friend again soon!

However, we left on the note of potential work, as Esther is thinking of starting a small hogwan and would need an English teacher… so who knows maybe I will be back sooner than expected.

Picking Up Strangers

When Esther and I had been at the Cat Cafe with her daughter, I got to chatting with a British couple on holiday from Singapore where they lived. We hit it off immediately and chatted about all sorts of things. They asked a lot of questions about my traveling and plans and I was very interested in the project that Kathleen (yup same name) worked with in Cambodia (one of my favorite countries).

We all decided to meet up for a beer Friday night and just managed to connect as they were running late and I decided to wait for just one more subway train. Low and Behold it was the train that they were on.

We had a great evening that started off with being yelled at by a Korean ajuma, older lady. We had gone for a beer in this comfy looking place, but when the lady insisted we order food we decided not to stay, of course the beer had already been poured. So we ended up staying and ordering a couple of very large pitchers and no one bothered us to order food. All rather amusing, but those Ajuma’s are scary!!!

Last Day

My last day in Seoul… kind of bitter sweet. I have been happy to be here, loved all the food (even when it didn’t love me), seeing all the sites and friends and reliving all my memories. But at the same time, as much as I would love to come back, it almost feels like I would be going backwards if I returned.

I spent the morning with Jamie exploring Godeok Dong, my old school’s subway stop, wanted to show her some pillows she had been interested in. We had some kimbap for lunch in the little park.

I was thrilled when I discovered they had my favorite and something I had been dreaming of for years. Mot Nan Ni Kimbap also known as Ugly Kimbap. Instead of the typical California roll style, this one is rather lumped together with rice and meat and flaked salty seaweed and made into balls then rolled in the flaky seaweed. Sooooo yummy, found it hard to concentrate on the serious conversation Jamie and I were having.

Final Friend Meeting

I had got a text message from another friend from OOPS inline skating group. I remembered her but couldn’t quite place her face, until I saw her. It was so good to meet up and we went and sat at my usual coffee place and had a very yummy coffee and vanilla choux pastry.

Photos of Seoul

More Western Style Toilets, for all sizes, With Toilet Paper. No More Hover Loo


Subway Stops Are Now Very Impressive With New Safety Doors


Ko-nglish


Yup, It Is Advertising “Shit Bread”, the exact translation. I am fairly certain it is just in the shape…. some things never change

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2012 in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Seoul, Korea – Final Days

  1. Barb

    November 6, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Laughed at the T-shirt & shit bread 🙂

     
    • trailingtrekker

      November 10, 2012 at 9:57 am

      you have no idea how many giggles I have when I walk around there. Just love the things they have.

       

Leave a Reply

 
