RSS

Perth – Day 170 to 172

09 Jul

27th June to 29th June 2011
Fremantle

Wake up at 6am, breakfast at 6.30am and on the road by 7am with a stunning sunrise to see us on our way. It took another 7hrs to get to Perth with a couple of stops along the way, including a stop at Windmill Cafe where a few Emus are housed.


Arriving in downtown Perth I hopped onto the train and headed into Fremantle where I was to meet my friend, Claire. Claire had surfed with me 3yrs ago, along with her friend Scott. We have stayed in touch and it was finally time to call in a favor. It was great to see her and catch up. Her roommates were fantastic and very welcoming. I had planned to do laundry as I was literally down to my last outfit (and had already worn it for 2 days straight), unfortunately the weather was against me and it poured with rain the 2 days I was there. Luckily Deb stopped by with a few things I had left at her place which included a clean shirt and a semi clean pair of jeans.

It was a great 3 days and I was able to get quite a bit done as far as blog and sorting stuff also met up with Scott who also surfed my couch in Seattle 3 yrs ago.

Flying to the Gold Coast

All good things have to come to an end and it was time to leave WA (Western Australia). I was on the red eye to the Gold Coast. Now to most a red eye would be 11.30pm or maybe midnight. For some obscure reason my red eye flight only left Perth at 1.25am. How is this in any way humane to the people flying or the people working. It also means that if friends drop you off its around 9 or 10pm, giving you ample time to do your reading and drink lots of coffee. To make matters worse, even though we only landed at 8.55am the flight was only 4hrs, barely enough time to wiggle into a comfy spot and shut your eyes, let alone get any actual sleep. Claire’s amazing roommate was kind enough to drive me to the airport, saving me the $35 bus ride. Through security by 10.30pm gave me a good 2.5hrs to attempt A) a nap (tried it and managed to find the one spot near a gate which meant a constant draft everytime people boarded or deboarded. B) watch a movie (tried this but battery died). C) read a book or write in my diary (tried this but by midnight my eyes just couldn’t focus anymore. The resulting time was spent wandering in circles around the airport until it was time to go. Luckily karma was on my side for a change and there was a free row, giving me at least 30minutes of REM sleep, when the buckle wasn’t in my back.

Thankfully I made it in a somewhat conscious condition…somewhat!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Perth – Day 170 to 172

  1. Barb

    July 9, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Gorgeous sunrise! Since you have been to so many places on this journey, do you sometimes wake up & have trouble remembering where you are?!

     

Leave a Reply

 
