RSS

AmaZOOnico – its a wrap

25 Apr

Deciding to volunteer in the jungle of Ecuador was more of an afterthought that an actual plan. In fact the entire decision to visit South America was an afterthought when plans to volunteer in Botswana fell through. A friend reminded me of a work mate I knew in Peru, and then my mom found an article about volunteering in Ecuador. Well Ecuador was right above Peru, sounded like a perfect fit.

I spoke no Spanish, had never been to South America, was not a fan of rice and beans and yet here I was merrily buying a ticket for my first leg of a year of travel and heading down south. And I will never regret it for a moment. it has been one of the most amazing experiences of my life and volunteering at AmaZOOnico has made me stronger and (not to sound corny) a wee bit wiser. Here are a few shots from my life there and some of the amazing animals I worked with:

VIDEO: My lodgings – The Volunteer House

VIDEO: Toucans – the one trying to get into the compost bucket is the one who had a vendetta against my boots

Blue and Yellow Macaw with Amazon Parrot - they mate for life



VIDEO: Dobbie showing his intelligence

VIDEO: Enrichment with Tamarin monkeys











 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in RTW, Travel, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “AmaZOOnico – its a wrap

  1. Barb

    April 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Loved the videos! It was great to see the animals in action & hear their sounds. Those ocelots sure were in ecstasy with the spray. And, is it really bright read inside the toucan’s mouth? Also, it is always interesting to me to see the volunteer accommodations at other projects. Lying on your bed & listening to the jungle sounds must have amazing. Thanks so much for posting these.

     

Leave a Reply

 
