RSS

Lima day 3 – Tickets, Phones and a Taste of Peru

20 Jan

Jan 8 2011
The plan, again, had been to get up early and head out to get a whole bunch of errands done and back in time for Fernando to head out for a meeting. But needles to say we got a very late start.

We were supposed to head into Miraflores to sort out my tickets to Cusco, get me a phone and then visit Katia at her store. We only managed the first two and then had to rush home by taxi to make sure Fernando could head out in time.

As he left he ordered me to be brave and attempt to walk around as much as possible. I made it to the store up the road and bought juice, cereal, chocolate and beer :), then stopped at then stopped at the internet cafe and checked on a few things. Heading home I discovered that Fernando’s parents had stopped by and had left me note.

Later on after a delicious hotdog for dinner and a shower, I relaxed and worked on a few things. His parents showed up a couple of hours later with some things for the house and offered to show me around the neighborhoods and point out the locations of a few museums.

They then decided to take me to the area of Barranco and let me try a few Peruvian delicacies. At that point I had not known that that was where we had been the night before and after Fernando’s mom called him she was a little annoyed at the fact that I had been to the exact place she wanted to take me. Instead we went to another famous restaurant and we had 3 varieties of savory tamales and one sweet. We also had 2 very sweet and super delicious desserts, but I think I was on the verge of a sugar coma. The first was almost bread pudding like, it had bread cubes, coconut chunks, raisins and soaked in a sweet coco sauce. The other was a rich caramel base with sweetened soft meringue on top. To go along with this I was given an amazing Pisco drink that had an almost Bailey’s Irish cream feel to it, but oh so much better. Pisco Algarrobina, simply delicious!

After a short walk around the square we headed home. His parents are amazing and I really appreciated the tour. I got to bed at the early hour of around 11.30pm.

Stay tuned as the adventure continues and we head into the desert to visit old temples, eat delicious sea food and row around a wetland.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
